bastechnology.blogg.se

Hdclone pass 2 of 2
Hdclone pass 2 of 2





If I am able to do that, does the image *have* to be restored to a new drive using the laptop and the Acronis Boot Disk (i.e. Should I have made it bootable or not - Acronis' instructions seem unclear to me.(Recording now - I chose not to make it bootable - and I'm copying the image onto a 3,5" external disk.) If it succeeds in making a whole-disk image, I could theoretically restore that to another laptop hardrive - and I'd use one of the same capacity, for simplicity's sake.ģ. I'm in the midst of trying to make a full disk image of my hard drive (the one failing) in the laptop. 'failsafe' backup in case things get worse.Ģ. I am able to mount those images as virtual drives in Vista, and can access data. It gave me one 'read' errors - perhaps 2, in the process but I said 'retry' and it didn't complain further.

hdclone pass 2 of 2

I made a new *partition* backup today using Acronis, just as a safety backup. But it gave me error messages saying it couldn't complete the clone process.

hdclone pass 2 of 2

Some weeks ago I tried 'clone disk', using first, a drive of the same size, and then, a drive larger (orig is 320 gb, larger was 500 gb) using an acronis 2011 boot disk and my laptop, setup the way acronis advises for cloning.

hdclone pass 2 of 2

How can I be sure that I'm not simply copying badsectors or data from an old drive onto a new drive that I plan to put in that machine as a replacement, once I either clone a copy or make an image and restore it using Acronis 11? I ran checkdisk with error correction, and it seems to have finished and done its work, but still, when I made a partition backup using Acronis Home 11, I got 2 error messages saying it couldn't read some data - I told it to 'try again' and it didn't give me any more error codes.) The number of sectors affected seem to climb abit with each boot - think 99 was the last number.) And I've found at least one, and by other methods more, sectors with data that I get a 'can't read that' error.

hdclone pass 2 of 2

Easy part: I have a laptop WD drive that is starting to show signs of failure (Smart parameters warning, on some SMART versions, the 'Current Sector Pending Count' shows a red circle with a bar across it. Bear with me, as I have a couple Q's that can be a bit complex.







Hdclone pass 2 of 2